In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.



QU’s pharmacy students hold their annual election virtually | Qatar University

QU’s pharmacy students hold their annual election virtually


The College of Pharmacy (CPH) at Qatar University (QU) held its annual elections, for its Qatar Pharmacy Undergraduate Society (QPhUS), for the academic year 2020-2021. Election campaign and voting was held virtually due to precautionary measures to prevent (COVID-19). There were nine executive council positions, and students from general pharmacy year and all four professional years of pharmacy were encouraged to nominate themselves and participate in electing their representatives.
The executives are members of CPH undergraduate student advisory committee which is a forum to discuss any strengths, concerns or areas for improvements relating to the students’ academic and non-academic experience. These members take an active role in leading students’ initiatives in hosting academic and non-academic outreach and social events. QPhUS board members may also be selected to represent Qatar regionally or internationally at conferences, scientific or educational events. QPhUS is an active member of the international pharmaceutical students’ federation (IPSF).
The names of the members of the elected QPHUS executive council for this year are as follows: President: Hend AlNaimi, Vice President: Marwa Elshazly, Contact Person and Public Relations Officer: Ruba Sulaiman, Media and Marketing Director: Taimaa Hejazi, Treasurer: Dana Mustafa, General Secretary: Fatima Nazar, and four Class Representatives: Hiba Mohammed, Laila Shafei, Lana Kattan and Sondus Jawad. For this year, two general pharmacy students were included, Layan Mohamed representing females, and Ahmad Alshare representing the first batch of males in CPH.
The president of this year’s QPHUS Ms. Hend AlNaimi said: “Last year was my first year being an executive member and the president of QPhUS, it was a great opportunity to express my leadership skills and gain new experience with the team. I learnt new skills that I will be using even beyond my university time. I highly encourage every student to try such experience and I am glad to continue being the president for this year with new talented team which I am sure will drive QPhUS to a great path”.
Bassant Elkattan was announced as AY19 QPHUS executive of the year. Bassant who served as QPhUS Contact Person and Public Relations Officer for the past two years and have recently graduated from the College of Pharmacy BSc program commented: “It is a great honor to be chosen by my colleagues as the executive of the year. Yet, this was only possible because of the amazing team that I had the pleasure of working with this year. Being part of QPhUS leadership for the past years is the true blessing that I will forever be grateful for. Through different opportunities, it helped in developing myself and prepared me for the professional world. I hope that all CPH students would take this opportunity to be active members In QPhUS”. The 12th Annual Potluck Food Festival was voted as event of the year.”
CPH Assistant Dean for Student Affairs Dr. Alla El-Awaisi who oversaw the campaign, nominations and the elections congratulated the new executive team and commented: “We are incredibly proud of our student body amazing achievements and outstanding outcome. They have led a number of great initiatives last academic year despite COVID-19 with long lasting memorable impact on all those who have participated. We at the College of Pharmacy are always keen to provide our students with opportunities to grow and develop various skills including leadership skills from now to be the agent for change in the future”.

Related Files
  • Elected QPHUS executive council members